Gradient

ATA Local #25 Diversity, Equity, and Human Rights Resources

Resources will be updated Monthly.

Gradient

Dear ATA Local #25 Members:

We’ve created this website so we can share resources from our committee and provide service to our members.

Gradient

What does DEHR Stand for?

Diversity, Equity, and Human Rights Committee.

For more information on committee goals and outline of what we do please see the "What is DEHR" page. 

Some Classroom Ideas
 May: Gender Equity Resources

adult gender book.jpg

The International Handbook of Gender and Poverty: Concepts, research, policy Edited by: Sylvia Chant

This is a resource for adults that covers a range of research findings internationally of the role of gender and poverty.  

Excerpt: In the interests of contextualising (and nuancing) the multiple interrelations between gender and poverty, Sylvia Chant has gathered writings on diverse aspects of the subject from a range of disciplinary and professional perspectives, achieving extensive thematic as well as geographical coverage. This benchmark volume presents women’s and men’s experiences of gendered poverty with respect to a vast spectrum of intersecting issues including local to global economic transformations, family, age, ‘race’, migration, assets, paid and unpaid work, health, sexuality, human rights, and conflict and violence. The Handbook also provides up-to-the-minute reflections on how to theorise, measure and represent the connections between gender and poverty, and to contemplate how gendered poverty is affected – and potentially redressed – by policy and grassroots interventions. An unprecedented and ambitious blend of conceptual, methodological, empirical and practical offerings from a host of established as well as upcoming scholars and professionals from across the globe lends the volume a distinctive and critical edge. Notwithstanding the broad scope of The International Handbook of Gender and Poverty, one theme in common to most of its 100-plus chapters is the need to ‘en-gender’ analysis and initiatives to combat poverty and inequality at local, national and international levels. As such, the volume will inspire its readers not only to reflect deeply on poverty and gender injustice, but also to consider what to do about it.This book will be essential reading for all with academic, professional or personal interests in gender, poverty, inequality, development, and social, political and economic change in the contemporary world.

on the basis of gender.jpeg

On the basis of Sex movie about the life of Ruth Bader-Ginsburg available on Netflix and via google play and apple tv. 

This is a stirring movie based on real-life events that can be used for adults and students alike. It is recommended to be used with Div 3 and higher. It focuses on the life of Ruth Bader-Ginsburg and how she fought for gender equity within the confines of the American justice system.

Excerpt: Ruth Bader Ginsburg is having quite a year at the movies: In May, the documentary RBG offered a new look at Ginsburg’s life through interviews with the “notorious” Supreme Court Justice herself as well as family members and scholars. And on Dec. 25, a new movie dives into another chapter of her career. On the Basis of Sex, directed by Mimi Leder and starring Felicity Jones as a young Ginsburg and Armie Hammer as her husband, Martin Ginsburg, hones in on her early years as a mother, student, professor and, finally, lawyer. Though the film spans more than a decade, it focuses on Ginsburg’s first gender discrimination case, Moritz v. Commissioner. In the case, which took place in 1972, the Ginsburgs argued as a team that Section 214 of the United States tax code—which denied Charles Moritz, a never-married man, the right to deduct expenses for the care of his ailing mother—was unconstitutional.

what would she do.jpeg

What would she do: 25 stories of trailblazing rebel women by: Kay Woodward

Picture Book that can be used in Div 2,3, and 4 classes. Exposes students to short non-fiction biographies of amazing women from history.

Excerpt: 
 

Covering 25 diverse women from early world leaders to modern day heroes, What Would She Do? is an inspiring and empowering illustrated guide for today's budding young feminists.

 

From historic world leaders to brilliant scientists, artists, and modern-day pioneers, What Would She Do? shares twenty-five incredible women's stories that educate and empower. Learn about the remarkable achievements and attitudes of feminist trailblazers such as Cleopatra, Amelia Earhart, Malala Yousafzai, Michelle Obama, and other brave women who overcame huge obstacles to accomplish great things.Featuring stunning illustrations from diverse artists, this beautiful book will inspire young readers and prepare them to face any challenge by simply asking, "What would she do?"

groundbreaking guys.jpeg

Ground Breaking Guys By: Stephanie True Peters

A picture book that can be used with Div 2, 3, and 4 classes. This book is full of inspiring men who do not necessarily follow traditional masculine gender roles or are role models in their own field. 

Excerpt:

An illustrated book of biographies highlighting the inspiring and innovative qualities of forty very different men throughout history, for fans of Heroes for My Son and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.

 

Our history books are full of great men, from inventors to explorers to presidents. But these great men were not always good men. It's time for our role models to change. This book pays tribute to Mr. Rogers, Barack Obama, Hayao Miyazaki, and more: men whose masculinity is grounded in compassion and care.

 

These men have varying worldviews and are accomplished in a range of fields, but they share important commonalities. They served their communities. They treated people with respect. They lifted others up. And they went on to create change, inspire others, and, indeed, do great things--not in spite of their goodness, but because of it.


These men's stories will educate, entertain, and encourage the next generation of writers, activists, entrepreneurs, and other leaders of all genders to do better and be better--to be truly groundbreaking.